Montgomery Township Committee Candidates 2013

Montgomery Township Committee Candidates Answer League Questions

November 5, 2013 General Election Day

Polls will be open from 6am until 8pm

EDITOR'S NOTE: These are the verbatim responses of the candidates for Montgomery Township Committee to questions presented by the League of Women Voters of the Princeton Area in cooperation with The Princeton Packet.  The candidates were allowed to vary the length of their answers to the three questions but were given a word limit for the total.

Candidates – Vote for two (three-year term)

Patricia Graham (incumbent) – Republican, Princeton-based commercial litigation attorney with over 25 years’ experience. Website: www.gopmontgomery.org

Sarah Roberts – Democrat, Before I retired I was an engineer. I was also a full-time mother.  Website: MontgomeryDemsNJ.org

Ed Trzaska (incumbent) – Republican, Director, Commercial Operations, Daiichi Sankyo (pharmaceutical company).  Website: www.gopmontgomery.org

Ernie Willson – Democrat, Professional Engineer. 

What do you consider the three most important challenges facing  Montgomery Township?  What personal and professional experiences have prepared you for addressing these challenges?

Ms. Graham:  

First, we must keep taxes down while responsibly guiding Montgomery through difficult financial times.  Five years after the 2008 fiscal crisis our residents and township continue to face financial struggles.  I have worked with the Township Committee to right some of the financial wrongs of the past – since 2010, we have reduced the township’s debt by nearly $20 million, restructured that debt to avoid balloon payments saving  taxpayers $600,000, kept spending below 2005 levels and, despite decreasing tax revenues, adopted more fiscally sound budgets less dependent on non-recurring “surplus.”   We must continue to keep spending and taxes down while managing the Township’s finances responsibly.